typoversity

€ 24.90



TYPOVERSITY //

What about the typographical offspring in Germany?
How do the students handle typography?
How does the typographical education look like in Germany and elsewhere?


»typoversity« presents current projects from education and studies with the main emphasis »typography« and also teachers are given insights. In interviews with Prof. Heike Grebin, Prof. Nora Gummert-Hauser, Prof. Jürgen Huber & Christian Hanke, Prof. Indra Kupferschmid, Prof. Jay Rutherford, Prof. Betina Müller, Prof. Ulrike Stoltz, Prof. Rayan Abdullah and Dan Reynolds they report about their teaching concepts and tell us how they motivate students and fill them with enthusiasm for studying typography. »typoversity« discusses the role of the typography for the work as a designer and her social relevance. »typoversity« is focused on quality of typographical bases and delight in experimentation.

The book has been published by Norman Beckmann Verlag & Design and was produced with kind support of Bölling Prägedruck from Bad Soden, who took on the cover printing via letterpress and the Büro Dunst, which provided the fonts Novel Sans Pro and Novel Pro.



About the authors:
Patrick Marc Sommer lives and works as designer and production manager in Berlin. His main emphases are in the fields of print media: corporate publishing, book & magazine design and production. Besides he is an editor since 2005, among others for Encore, Slanted (typo weblog & magazine) and as a co-editor of the magazine of Design made in Germany.

Nadine Rossa lives and works as a freelance illustrator and designer in Berlin. Within the last few years she has worked for different agencies and start-ups and studied communication design in Berlin. Her main emphases are in the fields of screen design, typography and illustration. Since 2009 she is co-editor of the magazine of Design made in Germany.

Andrea Schmidt studied graphic and interface design an the Hochschule Anhalt in Dessau. Since 2000 she lives and works as a typograher and designer in Berlin. Among others she taught typography at the FH Potsdam, the Universität der Künste Berlin and the China Academy of Art Hangzhou. She researches the area of the multilingual typography after numerous stay abroads. Since 2010 Andrea Schmidt is co-editor in the publishing house J. Frank | Berlin, that devotes itself to intercultural literature and illustration projects.


Shortfacts:
Title: typoversity
Authors: Patrick Marc Sommer, Nadine Roßa, Andrea Schmidt
Publisher: Norman Beckmann Verlag & Design
Content: 240 pages
Format: 210 × 240 mm
Processing: letterpress, adhesive binding
Text: german
ISBN: 978-3-939028-25-3
Price: 24,90 EUR incl. tax, excl. shipping costs
Website: www.typoversity.com

Awards:
TDC58 Type Directors Club New York 2012, Certificate of Typographic Excellence
ED-Awards European Design 2012, Silver





Add to Cart:

typoversity

€ 24.90



TYPOVERSITY //

Wie steht es um den typografischen Nachwuchs in Deutschland?
Wie gehen die Studierenden mit Typografie um?
Wie sieht die typografische Ausbildung in Deutschland und anderswo aus?


»typoversity« präsentiert aktuelle Projekte aus Ausbildung und Studium mit dem Schwerpunkt »Typografie« und lässt auch Lehrende zu Wort kommen. In Interviews mit Prof. Heike Grebin, Prof. Nora Gummert-Hauser, Prof. Jürgen Huber & Christian Hanke, Prof. Indra Kupferschmid, Prof. Jay Rutherford, Prof. Betina Müller, Prof. Ulrike Stoltz, Prof. Rayan Abdullah und Dan Reynolds berichten diese über ihr Lehrkonzept und verraten, wie es ihnen gelingt, Studierende für Typografie zu motivieren und zu begeistern. »typoversity« diskutiert die Rolle der Typografie für die gestalterische Arbeit und ihre gesellschaftliche Relevanz. »typoversity« setzt auf Qualität typografischer Grundlagen und Experimentierfreudigkeit.

Das Buch ist im Norman Beckmann Verlag erschienen und wurde produziert mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Bölling Prägedruck aus Bad Soden, die den Coverdruck via Buchdruck übernahmen und dem Büro Dunst, welches die Schriften Novel Sans Pro und Novel Pro zur Verfügung stellten.



Über die Autoren:
Patrick Marc Sommer lebt und arbeitet als Designer und Produktioner in Berlin. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Print: Corporate Publishing, Buch- & Magazingestaltung und Produktion. Er ist seit 2005 nebenbei redaktionell tätig, u.  a. für Encore, Slanted (Typo Weblog & Magazin) und als Mitherausgeber des Magazins von Design made in Germany.

Nadine Roßa lebt und arbeitet als freiberufliche Illustratorin und Designerin in Berlin. In den letzten Jahren hat sie fest und frei in verschiedenen Agenturen und mit Start-Ups gearbeitet und Kommunikationsdesign in Berlin studiert. Ihre Schwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Screen-Design, Typografie und- Illustration. Seit 2009 ist sie Mitherausgeberin des Magazins von Design made in Germany.

Andrea Schmidt studierte Grafik- und Interfacedesign an der Hochschule Anhalt in Dessau. Seit 2000 lebt und arbeitet sie als Typografin und Designerin in Berlin. Sie lehrte Typografie u. a. an der FH Potsdam, der Universität der Künste Berlin und der China Academy of Art Hangzhou. Nach zahlreichen Auslandsaufenthalten forscht sie im Bereich der Multilingualen Typografie. Seit 2010 ist Andrea Schmidt Mitherausgeberin im Verlagshaus J. Frank | Berlin, dass sich interkulturellen Literatur- und Illustrationsprojekten widmet.


Shortfacts:
Titel: typoversity
Autoren: Patrick Marc Sommer, Nadine Roßa, Andrea Schmidt
Verlag: Norman Beckmann Verlag & Design
Umfang: 240 Seiten
Format: 210 × 240 mm
Verarbeitung: Buchdruck, PUR-Klebebindung
Text: deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-939028-25-3
Preis: 24,90 EUR inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkostenpauschale
Website zum Projekt: www.typoversity.com

Auszeichnungen:
TDC58 Type Directors Club New York 2012, Certificate of Typographic Excellence
ED-Awards European Design 2012, Silber





Anzahl: